Nicole Frýbortová


Date of birth: 14 November 1993

My name is Nicole Frýbortová.  
Since I was seven years old, I have been engaged in artistic cycling which I discovered thanks to attending the Sokol (sport movement organization) in Řečkovice, Brno.

Today, I cycle for the SKP Kometa Brno led by the coach Věra Břínková. However, I have decided to represent Slovakia due to some conflicts and disagreements with ČSC (Czech Cycling Federation).

I would like to be engaged in the bicycle as long as I keep fit and my dream is to reach the top of artistic cycling. It’s gonna be a lot of years of hard work:)


Interview: Nicole Frýbortová -

What has brought you to such an unconventional sport?

As a child I attended exercises for children. Artistic cyclers trained after we had finished. I observed them secretly and in the end, I tried it as well.

How many years have you been doing artistic cycling and when did you start to do it full time?

I have been doing artistic cycling for 14 years. I started to do it fully after attending the first World Championship, which was in 2008 when I was 14 years old. Although I placed 9th, it was an inexpressible experience and one of the most wonderful World Championships.

As a professional, do you still experience any falls?

Unfortunately, I do, besides sprained ankles, bruises and other injuries which I don’t even count. This year in January, I suffered from sprained instep and as a result I wasn’t able to train fully for 3 months. I still have some problems with the foot, but, as the time goes by, one gets used to it.

Do you train one, two or more hours and how often? (Three days per week or every day?)

It depends. Sometimes we train 2 hours, sometimes 3 hours. We train in a small gym where we have to take turns. I come to the gym 6 times a week.

You compete not only as a single but also in a mixed pair. Is riding in a pair more difficult and what are its main risks? (You became artistic cycling champions of Slovakia together with Tomáš Rozbořil at the XVII Indoor Cycling National Championship in October 2015).

We do pairs only marginally. Definitely, it isn’t more difficult. The two usually support each other when the exercise changes whereas a single has to manage all him/herself.

What do you like most about this sport?

It is something extraordinary.

What type of bicycle do you ride (artistic ride) and what are its specifics? (Weight, equipment, some interesting facts)

It is a fixed-gear bike. Is has no equipment. Not even gear shifting or brakes.

Which exercises are the most difficult and how long does it take to learn and practise them? (You can write generally)

It is different. Every exercise needs some time. The ‘baby’ exercises can be learnt within a day, but on the other hand, overleap from the seat to the handlebars can be practised as long as two years. It also depends on the training frequency and talent plays its role, as well.

Are individual figures fixed or possibly known among competitors, or do you also invent your own figures?

Yes, the exercises are provided by rules. They describe what each exercise should look like, whether the leg should be stretched, etc. I can invent my own figures only for exhibitions. At competitions, we have to perform the fixed exercises, the number of which is 30 in 5 minutes. The more difficult exercise the higher the points for it.

What does the training look like and how much time does the preparation take?

Each training starts with warm-up exercises and then with practising old exercises and learning new ones. Trainings have no time schedule. When I have practised enough, I go home.

Do you ever have a problem with the orientation in the riding area? You often spin and sometimes ride quite fast...

After 14 years, I got used to it. Sometimes, after performing a pirouette, one doesn’t know how to stop or where to go, but we have to manage these situations.

You travel a lot due to competitions. Are you able to study or work while being so busy, or can you do artistic cycling full time?

In the past years, I studied, worked and trained. It was quite enough. Nowadays, I only study and train. And do the cycling full time? Yes, it would help me, but, unfortunately I pay everything myself and I don’t make any money from the cycling, so I cannot do it full time.

Do you also go cycling in woods or in the countryside just for fun?

There is neither time nor energy for that.

Do you do any other sports?

I go skiing and sometimes rollerblading.

And what is your favourite way of relaxing?

Good food, drinks and a nice film. Sometimes, I go to massage.

What are your sports goals and what would you like to achieve in artistic cycling?

I would like to stand on the top winner’s podium at the World Championship.

The video of your ride at EMS Cup in Austria has spread on the internet and attracted more than 1.6 million people on YouTube. You are also active on Facebook (more than 30 thousand fans), so even though artistic cycling is not a well-known discipline, people like it. Your web page includes a section ‘exhibitions’, so what unusual places have you performed in?

I perform at various events such as balls, sports, social or company events, etc. I consider none of these places (road, hall, theatre...) unusual.